Starting a game
When the player boots the game up, a menu will appear, with either K.K. Slider (if this is a new game) or one of the villagers you've met appearing. They will tell you the current time. They will also tell you which character you would like to play as, or give you the option to create a new character (if you have 3 or fewer player characters).
Interacting with the world
Saving and loading your game
Saving the game is easy. Go up to the Gyroid near your house, and then hit the A button twice to enter the save area. One of your villagers will appear, and they will ask you if you want to save and continue or save and quit. If either option is selected, the game will be saved onto the Memory Card. Do not remove the Memory Card or disc while the saving is underway, otherwise the Memory Card may become corrupted.
Failure to save your game results in a visit with Mr. Resetti, as well as all of the changes you made prior to last save becoming overwritten.