From StrategyWiki, the video game walkthrough and strategy guide wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

How to Catch Bugs[edit]

Bugs can be a little harder to collect compared to fish. With fish you know they will be in the water, however bugs are found in a number of different places throughout your town. You will need a net in order to catch bugs. You can buy a net at Nookling Junction for 500 Bells.

Due to the fact that bugs are found in a number of different places in your town it is important to keep a lookout. It is also advisable to have your sound turned up as a lot of the bugs make noise, which can help you locate them. When you're hunting bugs on the trees or on the ground it's recommendable go as far south as you can and proceed northwards: you'll have a much better view of the surroundings.

Some bugs only appear on coconut or banana trees, so be sure to plant some.

The bugs available to catch depend on several different factors such as time of day, month, and even weather conditions. If you are trying to get a particular bug first be sure you are hunting at the right time of day.

This is a list of the different times of day you can catch bugs.

  • Morning: 4:00am-9:00am
  • Noon: 9:00am-4:00pm
  • Evening: 4:00pm-8:00pm
  • Night: 8:00pm-4:00am

Common places to find bugs[edit]

  • In trees: Bees are the most common bugs to be found inside tress. In order to get the bees you have to shake the tree and wait for the beehive to fall out. When this happens you only have a few seconds to catch one. If you fail to catch a bee you will be stung in the face. The bee sting can be cured by taking medicine or by saving your game. Once you return to the game, the sting will be gone. You can also cure bee stings by opening your town gate. If you are not trying to catch bees and you don't want them to fall when you shake the trees, open the gate and the only things that fall down will be bells and furniture. Spiders are also found by shaking trees, although they aren't as common as bees.
  • On trees: A lot of bugs are found sitting on the tree trunks. Sometimes they can blend in and are hard to see, so it’s a good idea to walk around slowly if you want to catch them. Just like fish, they bugs will fly (or run) away if you scare them. The best way to catch bugs on trees is to slowly approach the tree from the front. Then, when your characters head is approximately half-way up the trunk, swing the net. You should also have a few palm trees on your beach, as a number of beetles can only be found on this type of tree.
  • By garbage: Although it is a bad idea to leave garbage lying around in your town, this can be a good way to attract flies. Flies are hard to catch, but a loud buzzing noise will alert players to their presence. If you leave out garbage or spoiled turnips, flies will be attracted to them. Spoiled turnips also attract ants.
  • Underground: Bugs like the mole cricket spend their time underground. It’s a good idea to keep your volume up, as this is the only way to tell where they are. You will have to dig a few holes before the bug shows itself. Once the bug is above ground you can catch it with your net.
  • Near lights: Just like in real life, moths like to fly around lights. In the evenings and at night you will find moths flying around the lighted windows and lights in your town.
  • On the ground: One of the most common places you will find bugs is on the ground. You will find more bugs on the ground in spring and summer than in winter. You will have to chase some bugs around before you can catch them. Some bugs will chase you before you catch them. The best way is to slowly walk toward them so you don't scare them away or make them attack you, which usually consists of falling unconscious and waking up at your house groggy.
  • On neighbours: Unfortunately some of the villagers in your town may get fleas from time to time. This is an easy way to catch this bug. Simply swing you net at the villager and you will catch a flea. Be careful when hitting villagers with nets (and other tools). If you hit them when they don’t have fleas you will make them angry.
  • On flowers: Snails, honeybees, butterflies and other bugs can be found on or around flowers, so it makes sense to have a good variety in your town.
  • In the air: A number of bugs can be found happily flying around. Many butterflies and dragonflies can be found this way. Just be on the lookout for these bugs!

What to do with bugs[edit]

Like the fish, there are a few different things you can do with them.

  • Donate them to the museum: The museum is empty until you start donating things. Blathers will accept a newly caught bug from you, as long as you haven’t already donated that specific breed (you will quickly discover that Blathers has a fear of bugs!). When you donate a bug to Blathers, he will tell you a number of facts about it, which usually includes the thing that disgusts him the most about it! Once you’ve donated the bug you can check the bug section of the museum and see all the bugs you have donated.
  • Sell them: You can sell any bugs you have at Re-Tail or Nookling Junction, preferably at Re-Tail as they pay more for your items. The price differs depending on species and whether you have the Wealthy Town Ordinance enacted. Some bugs sell for 200 bells, while others (like the Golden Stag) can sell for 12,000 bells! This is handy to help pay off that mortgage!
  • Give them to a villager: Every so often villagers in your town will want certain items. Usually these items are clothes, furniture, bugs or fish. If you are able to provide the villager with the bug (or item) they requested you will usually receive a reward. This can be money or another item.
  • Display them in your house: There are certain bugs that you will be proud of catching. Scorpions make interesting talking points when you have friends in your town via Wi-Fi. It is also handy to store larger bugs in your house while you wait for the ‘Bug-off’ tournament.

List of Bugs[edit]

Please note that if you have the Wealthy Town Ordinance enacted in your town, these prices will increase by 20%.

Name Image Price (Bells) Location Months available Times available
Common Butterfly ACNL commonbutterfly.png 90 Near Flowers March-June, September 4am-7pm (Mar-Jun), 8am to 4pm (Sep)
Yellow Butterfly ACNL yellowbutterfly.png 90 Near Flowers March-June, September 4am-7pm (Mar-Jun), 8am to 4pm (Sep)
Tiger Butterfly ACNL tigetbutterfly.png 160 Near Flowers March-September 4am-7pm (Mar-Jun), 8am-5pm (Jul-Aug), 8am-4pm (Aug)
Peacock Butterfly ACNL peacockbutterfly.png 220 Near blue, purple or black Flowers March-September 4am-7pm (Mar-Jun), 4am-5pm (Jul), 8am-5pm (Aug), 8am-4pm (Sep)
Monarch Butterfly ACNL monarchbutterfly.png 140 Near Flowers September-November 4am-5pm (Sep-Oct), 8am-5pm (Nov)
Emperor Butterfly ACNL emperorbutterfly.png 2,500 Near Flowers June-September 7pm-8am
Agrias Butterfly ACNL agriasbutterfly.png 3,000 Near Flowers June-September 8am-5pm
Raja B. Butterfly ACNL rajabbutterfly.png 2,500 Near rivers or ponds May-September 8am-5pm
Birdwing Butterfly ACNL birdwingbutterfly.png 4,000 Flying June-September 8am-4pm
Moth ACNL moth.png 60 Flying (near lights) May-September 7pm-4am
Oak Silk Moth ACNL oaksilkmoth.png 1,200 On tree trunks June-September 7pm-4am
Honeybee ACNL honeybee.png 100 Near Flowers March-July 8am-5pm (Mar-Jun), 8am-4pm (Jul)
Bee ACNL bee.png 2,500 In trees All year All day
Long Locust ACNL longlocust.png 200 Ground May-November 8am-7pm
Migratory Locust ACNL migratorylocust.png 600 Ground August-November 8am-7pm
Rice Grasshopper ACNL ricegrasshopper.png 400 Ground August-November 8am-7pm
Mantis ACNL mantis.png 430 On flowers April-November 8am-5pm
Orchid Mantis ACNL orchidmantis.png 2,400 On white flowers April-November 8am-5pm
Brown Cicada ACNL browncicada.png 200 On trees
Robust Cicada ACNL robustcicada.png 300
Giant Cicada ACNL giantcicada.png 500 On trees
Walker Cicada ACNL walkercicada.png 400 On trees
Evening Cicada ACNL eveningcicada.png 550 On trees
Cicada Shell ACNL cicadashell.png 100 On trees
Lantern Fly ACNL lanternfly.png 1,800 On trees
Red Dragonfly ACNL reddragonfly.png 80 Flying
Darner Dragonfly ACNL darnerdragonfly.png 200 Flying
Banded Dragonfly File:ACNL bandeddragonfly.png 4,500 Flying
Petaltail Dragonfly ACNL petaltaildragonfly.png 8,000 Flying
Ant ACNL ant.png 80
Pondskater ACNL pondskater.png 130
Diving Beetle ACNL divingbeetle.png 800
Stinkbug ACNL stinkbug.png 120
Snail ACNL snail.png 250
Cricket ACNL cricket.png 160 Ground
Bell Cricket ACNL bellcricket.png 1,720 Ground
Grasshopper ACNL grasshopper.png 160 Ground
Mole Cricket File:ACNL molecricket.png 280 Underground
Walking Leaf ACNL walkingleaf.png 600 Ground (looks like furniture icon)
Walking Stick ACNL walkingstick.png 600 On trees
Bagworm File:ACNL bagworm.png 300 In trees
Ladybug ACNL ladybug.png 200
Violin Beetle ACNL violinbeetle.png 260
Longhorn Beetle ACNL longhornbeetle.png 260
Tiger Beetle ACNL tigerbeetle.png 1,500 Ground
Dung Beetle File:ACNL dungbeetle.png 800
Wharf Roach ACNL wharfroach.png 200
Hermit Crab ACNL hermitcrab.png 1,000
Firelfy ACNL firefly.png 300 Flying (near river)
Fruit Beetle ACNL fruitbeetle.png 100 On trees
Scarab Beetle File:ACNL scarabbeetle.png 6,000 On trees
Jewel Beetle ACNL jewelbeetle.png 2,400 On trees
Miyama Stag ACNL miyamastag.png 1,000 On trees
Saw Stag ACNL sawstag.png 2,000 On trees
Giant Stag ACNL giantstag.png 10,000 On trees
Rainbow Stag ACNL rainbowstag.png 10,000 On trees
Cyclommatus Stag ACNL cyclommatusstag.png 8,000
Golden Stag ACNL goldenstag.png 12,000
Horned Dynastid ACNL horneddynastid.png 1,350 On trees
Horned Atlas ACNL hornedatlas.png 8,000
Horned Elephant ACNL hornedelephant.png 8,000
Horned Hercules ACNL hornedhercules.png 12,000
Goliath Beetle ACNL goliathbeetle.png 6,000
Flea ACNL flea.png 70
Pillbug ACNL pillbug.png 250
Mosquito ACNL mosquito.png 130 Flying
Fly File:ACNL fly.png 60 Flying (near trash)
House Centipede File:ACNL housecentipede.png 250
Centipede ACNL centipede.png 300
Spider ACNL spider.png 300 In trees
Tarantula File:ACNL tarantula.png 8,000 Ground
Scorpion ACNL scorpion.png 8,000 Ground